Old Dress, New Top

BeforeI’m very proud of this refashion!  It started as a demure green velvet dress from Land’s End.  I remember wearing it when my elder daughter was a baby, which was…um…more than 12 years ago.  The cloth is lovely–cotton velvet with a little Lycra for stretch and drape–and I just couldn’t bear to throw it away–the fit was very forgiving at holiday time.  But at 40-something, I just don’t do demure anymore.

AfterIt has an empire waist, so I decided to turn it into a tunic top.  First I converted the neckline to a V-neck.  (I really learned a lot from fellow refashioners about sewing stretchy material.)   Then I trimmed the bottom and hemmed it so it falls mid-thigh instead of just below the knee (not a flattering length for a short, round person.)  I wore it to work today!

Now I need to make myself a nice red or black skirt to go with this–when I tried wearing it over my black velvet skirt, the static cling was quite noticeable!  I need something satiny, I think.

2 responses to “Old Dress, New Top

  1. This is really lovely. I would go with a black satin skirt, more year round possibility.

Leave a Reply

