Möbius strip scarf

mobiusI’ve seen patterns for Möbius scarves and shawls in lots of places, online and in print. The idea was something I could wear over a tank top or sleeveless dress in summer, or over a sweater in the winter. Plus, I just love a good umlaut…

I had some pretty ribbon to knit with (it’s been around so long I’m not sure of the brand. Crystal Palace, perhaps?) It knitted up to 3.5 stitches per inch on size 13 / 9mm needles. I needed two balls of the ribbon.

Provisional cast on: Cast on 33 stitches with waste yarn. My favorite number is 11, so I did a multiple, but if you want a wider or narrower scarf, adjust accordingly.

The pattern: 7 rows of garter stitch (knit every stitch), followed by one row of drop-stitch. (That’s where you wrap the yarn around the needle twice, instead of once, when doing a knit stitch.)

Directions: Knit a row with the waste yarn. Then knit six rows, slipping the first stitch of each row. Then do one row of drop-stitch (see below.) Thereafter, follow this sequence of 8 rows until your piece is as long as you wish:

Row 1-7: slip the first stitch of every row, then knit every stitch.

Row 8: drop- stitch: The first stitch of this row is a regular knit stitch. For each stitch after that, wrap the yarn twice around the needle instead of once.

Repeat rows 1-8 until it’s just long enough to wrap around your shoulders comfortably, with the fabric twisted once. (If you are planning to wear it over a heavy winter sweater, make it longer!) Then do row 1 again. Then you’re ready to join the two ends of the scarf.

I used a Kitchener stitch to join the two ends. First, put the beginning row onto a needle and get rid of the waste row. Instead of joining the ends of the scarf into a smooth loop, put one “twist” in the scarf. (There’s a nice pic on Wikipedia of a Möbius band, so you can see what I mean.) Join the two ends of the Möbius scarf, weave in all the ends, and wear!

When trying to photograph the “twist,” I had to slide some paper between the front and back of the scarf so they didn’t blend together in the photo.

This is the first time EVER that I’ve written down directions for something I’ve knitted…so I hope I haven’t left out anything vital!

One response to “Möbius strip scarf

  1. Thank you for the pattern! I have wanted to make a Möbius for a long time, but this is the first pattern I can understand (I think) and I will definitely try it!

Leave a Reply

