Knit dress refashion

The first project of the new year!

This tunic began life as an old Lands End knit dress that belonged to my daughter.  It’s been languishing in a laundry basket for about three years, but I couldn’t bear to throw it away, because it was nice knit material.  It was (ahem!) too small to wear in its current state.

I cut it down the front and added a border to the opening.  The border is made from two folded-over strips of cotton fabric that covered the rough edge.  I top-stitched the border so it would lie flat.  I haven’t decided if I’ll do anything to the sleeves, which are three-quarter length, but it’ll work in warmer weather over a tank top & jeans.   And I have that nice glow of virtue (I recycled something!) to keep me warm in this freezing weather.

Leave a Reply

